Mandatory School Attendance

    As mandated by the Henry County Board of Education and the State Board of Education

    “When you miss school, you miss out!”

    Frequent absences, tardies, and/or checkouts from school are detrimental to the academic success of individual students and classmates.  Students should arrive at school on time and should remain in school for the complete school day. 


    Based on Georgia Law (20-2-690.1) and State Board of Education Rule (JB), any child between the ages of 6 and 16 who during the school calendar year has more than five days of unexcused absences from school will be considered truant. The legal penalties and consequences for truancy include referral of parents, guardians, or custodians to State Court and referral of juveniles to Juvenile Court for prosecution.


    Any student that is absent from school must bring a handwritten note or a medical doctor’s excuse the first day he/she returns to school for the absence to be excused. Please review the list of excused absences in the HCS Student Handbook.

    We will only accept 5 handwritten notes from home as excused absences for the entire year. After 5 handwritten notes or a total of 10 days absent, a medical doctor’s excuse will be required to excuse any absence. In addition, if a student is absent due to a sickness resulting in 3 or more days absent, a medical doctor’s note will be required to excuse the absence. 

    If a student is absent due to a death in the immediate family, a funeral program or a copy of the obituary is required to excuse the absence of no more than three days. 

    Tardies and Early Checkouts

    Any student who is not in class by 7:35 a.m. is considered tardy. All check-ins after 7:35 a.m. will be unexcused unless you have a medical doctor/dentist excuse. All checkouts will be unexcused unless we receive a medical doctor/dentist excuse the first day the student returns.

    Parents of students with excessive absences, tardies, or checkouts may be required to attend a meeting to set-up an attendance contract. Excessive unexcused tardies and early checkouts will be referred to the Henry County Courts for consideration for prosecution.

    Thank you in advance for ensuring that your child has regular and punctual school attendance.

    Transportation Changes

    Transportation changes must be received in writing with a signature of the enrolling parent / legal guardian. We cannot accept phone calls, e-mails, or text messages as a change of transportation. Any change of transportation must be received before 1:30 pm. 



    The legal penalties and consequences for truancy include referral of parents, guardians, or custodians to State Court and referral of juveniles to Juvenile Court for prosecution.

    Any parent, guardian, or other person residing in this state who has control or charge of a child or children and who violates the Mandatory Attendance Code section of Georgia law, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction thereof, shall be subject to a fine of not less than $25.00 and not greater than $100.00, imprisonment not to exceed 30 days, community service, or any combination of such penalties per absence.  Each day’s absence from school is a violation of this provision and shall constitute a separate offense.


    If convicted of truancy, juveniles may face severe penalties under the Juvenile Code of the State of Georgia.

    Attendance Zones

    To determine the school attendance zone for your residence:
    • Click on http://hdcedlog.henry.k12.ga.us/liveweb/webquery/ 

    • Type in your street address and press the enter key on your keyboard.

    • View the schoos listed in the "School Name" column.

    • Click on the link in the "School Code" column to obtain bus route information.
Last Modified on May 27, 2024